The Columbia Undergraduate Journal of History is a publication of the Undergraduate History Council at Columbia University. We review student submissions from history departments across the United States and internationally, and then select the most exemplary among them to be published in the Journal.

We will be publishing the next edition of the Columbia Undergraduate Journal of History early in Spring 2017. All students who submitted papers by our December deadline have been notified.

Selection Announcement- Fall 2009

The editors are pleased to announce the papers which have been selected for publication in the Fall 2009 issue. Despite a long and difficult process in which we had the pleasure of reading many worthy contributions, these papers ultimately stood out for the ambition of their inquiry, the depth of their research, and the quality of their prose.

Congratulations to:

Rudi Batzell, "The Yeoman Republic and 'Servile' Labor in the Realm of the California Wheat Kings"

Eliav Bitan, "The Science of Climate Change: Historical Analysis of a Public Problem"

Emma Hulse, "'Every Woman a Mighty Angela Davis': Representations of Race, Class and Gender in the 'Free Angela' Campaign"

Roy Kimmey, "The Critic in Question: Eduard Hanslick and Viennese Musical Identity"

Daniel Morales, "Mobility in the Windy City: Race, Class and Identity Among Mexican Immigrants in Pre-Depression Chicago"

Ester Murdukhayeva, "Precedent, Protests and Politics: Changes in the Prosecution of Rape in England, 1810-1845"

Julia Renaud, "'We Want You to See Us Live Over Again the Life of Hiawatha in His Own Country: Examining the Historical Context of an Invitation"

Andrew Tillet-Saks, "Civil Rights on the Market: Support and Opposition for the Public Accommodations Bill in the Civil Rights Act of 1964"

Jardine Wall, "Fueling the Roman Economy: The Use of Fuel Wood in Roman Industry, 200 BC - 400AD"

Once again, we congratulate these authors and thank all of the authors who submitted their work to the journal. Stay tuned for an announcement of the winners of the Herbert Aptheker Prize.

No comments: